I’m Going to Wrestling Camp!

In two weeks’ time, I’m going to be at the Australian Institute of Sport for a three-day women’s freestyle wrestling camp. The coach will be Kyla Bremner, a former Olympic wrestler. I found some footage of her competing, which you can check out below.

I’m very excited because, while I have competed in Muay Thai, BJJ and MMA, I have never competed in wrestling nor even had a high-level female wrestler to train with. Being at a camp with a whole group of women who wrestle is going to be an amazing experience. My training partners have been asking, a little forlornly, “Is there a men’s wrestling camp too..?” It’s going to be strange being there without my team. Gender lines don’t really exist during training at Trinity MMA, so I have to admit that my first thought when I heard about this opportunity was to bring my favourite drilling partners, followed a second later by, “Oh, wait a minute…”

Being at the AIS is going to be a real honour. I never imagined that I would have the opportunity to go there, as I’ve never been committed to a sport with an Olympic pathway and government funding and all of the other things that I associate with elite athletes. I’m looking forward to being in an environment which as all about bringing out the best performance in the athletes, to seeing what facilities are available, and to meeting more women who share my interest in wrestling.

What do you think?

