Getting Myself Back On Track With Fresh Produce (And Banana Cake)

It’s amazing what a couple of days of focussed eating can do.

I had gotten into a bit of a funk, with my neck injury preventing me from training and my eating spiralling out of control.

I don’t mean that I compulsively over-eat or chow down on litres of ice-cream at a time. I mean that a few days of stress would see me forgetting to eat at all, and then trying to compensate for it when I felt better, but being too tired, drained and depleted to prepare healthy food. Inevitably, I’d reach for whatever was convenient and easiest to prepare.

It was a vicious cycle, exacerbating my stress and engendering feelings of depression. I was living on more double-shot macchiatos than food.

My neck has recovered enough to get back to some limited Jiu Jitsu training, so I decided that this was the week and it was time to get my act together.

I stocked up on fresh produce and meats, and have been eating well again for the last two days. Grapes, apples, persimmons, pineapples, green papaya, roast chicken, pork chops, pumpkin, potato, spinach, tomatoes, tea…

I couldn’t resist trying out a gluten-free recipe for banana cake as well, which was delicious and perfectly satisfying. I topped it with a lusciously thick cream. I haven’t been eating for weight loss or even weight management over the last two days. My goal has just been to eat – period. If you’re the kind of person who also loses their appetite when under stress, you’ll understand what I mean. Banana cake seemed like the perfect wholesome treat to tempt my tastebuds out of semi-retirement. There is something soothing about the act of baking, of mixing carefully-chosen ingredients and waiting as they incubate in a hot oven, infusing your home with the smell of Sundays while you wait for a soft, warm treat to emerge.

Two days of eating, which involved some discipline and coaxing at first, and I feel like a new woman. Stress is minimised, depression is gone, and I was even able to train tonight.

Sometimes, food really can be medicine.

What do you think?

